what’s a wife to do?

Wedding planning is a peaceful season of planning and preparation, cake tasting and spending quality time with your fiance and his family.

That is if you’re on a healthy amount of anti-anxiety drugs and hallucinogens.

But for the rest of us, it is one of the busiest seasons you’ll encounter as you strive to balance meetings and shopping and table topping with the rest of your life, which, surprise, does not stop for your big day. You’re lucky if you get work off for your honeymoon.

But once your I-do’ed and hitched and honeymooned, you return home to life as it was before any question was ever popped.

Plus one, of course.

It was back to work and the shiny ring no longer was the precious for my coworkers, and whether or not there was a Mrs. in front of my surname or not, they still wanted me to bus tables and stock the salad bar and all of those other not so glamourous tasks that brides are exempt from.

But the veil never looked good with my Beau Jo’s t-shirt and to customers I’m just another burn-out pizza waitress.

It’s clearly time for me to leave the pizza industry behind. As good as it’s been.

But with only a piece of paper that says journalism graduate and pepperoni knowledge to guide me, I don’t really know where to.

And as much fun as it is to spend my new free time eating chocolate and catching up on every suspense thriller I missed over the passed few months, I have a feeling that Steven did not intend to marry a size 40 Grisham enthusiast.

So it’s on to bigger and better things and I’m not talking about pant sizes. I’ve asked for a promotion at my job at Scene Magazine, as well as looked into a few other local business opportunities.

But there’s one thing that separates this search from my previous job hunts.

I’m not alone.

Turns out this marriage thing comes with a built in support/advisor/mentor with your best interests in mind. Like a buy one, get a thousand.

If you know anyone looking for a full time marriage blogger, let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

