practicing an attitude of gratitude

Courtesy of twofordssearchin.

Now we never have to be apart again. (Courtesy of twofordssearchin.)

I recently found out that a dear friend of mine has heated toilet seats in her place of work.

The next day, when using the slightly more modest facilities at my own office, I suddenly realized how chilly my underside was. My poor, chilly, neglected bum, forced to undergo these inhumane working conditions.

It is so hard living in America.

Not long after exiting the restroom I realized something. The amount of water I just flushed would’ve taken a several mile walk and haul for millions in Africa. The soap I mindlessly scrub with has saved millions of lives by limiting the spread of disease. The bathroom itself is a comfortable 71 degrees—while just over a mile away, homeless huddle over vents in the below freezing and falling temperature outside.

Meanwhile, I’m brooding over my temporarily chilly cheeks. The human capacity to expect rather than appreciate is mind numbing.

And so has started my campaign to greaten my gratitude.

Everyday this month I am going to write down something new that I am thankful for. Not just paychecks and Christmas gifts but the in between things. The joy-making and sometimes even life-giving things that all too often slip through the grateful grate in my heart and land somewhere near my stomach.

Below are a few things I’ve added so far. Next time I put up a whiney post, kindly refer me to this one. I don’t want to wait until I’m drowning to be grateful for the air.

  • Holding hands.
  • Finding the perfect word.
  • Realizing that for some things, there isn’t one (see “holding hands”).
  • Metaphors.
  • When your cell phone breaks and at first it seems like your disconnected from the whole world and then after a few hours you feel the freedom and you realize you were never actually connected to the world. You were just carrying it around in your hand bag.
  • Technology that allows for underwater vision.
  • Squeezing too many people you love on to one couch and realizing that with this crowd, you don’t care for elbow room.
  • The hours between 7 and 9 in the morning.
  • Knowing people that make you want to be better.
  • Reading something true.
  • Reading something true out loud.
  • Learning something new.
  • Aprons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to practicing an attitude of gratitude

  1. jessicawow says:

    I love how you look at the positive and recognize we will have moments where we whine and complain, but we all need to be reminded that there is so much good around us AND there is so much good we can give to others. Reading is a passion, able to hug, breathe, taste food, give to others, smiles, twinkle in eyes, adventures, new people, new places, etc are all things I am grateful for.

Leave a Reply

